CoHealth Logo
My Account   |    View Cart

CoHealth provides training and resources for psychologists, behavioral and healthcare professionals, and family members to better care for the elderly by understanding the psychology of aging along with the physical effects of growing old — a collaborative approach to care for the whole person.
Share Digg Facebook Delicious Stumble Upon Mixx! Reddit Twitter MySpace
Search Course Offerings

Audience
Psychologists
LTC Staff
Direct-Care workers
Families

Topic
Assessment
Treatment
Caregiving
Quality of Life
Integrated Care

Objective
Care for the whole person
Understand aging
Help families
Support practice

Course type
Length
Full  Mini

Medium
Text Audio Text + Audio


CE credit
CE
Non-CE
 
Home » Conferences » Severe Mental Illness in Long Term Care Facilities
[CoHealth Web Conference]



Severe Mental Illness in Long Term Care Facilities

By Victor Molinari, PhD

Wednesday, Mar 25th, 2009
7:00am PDT, 8:00am MDT, 9:00am CDT, 10:00am EDT
(01:30:00 hours)

Focus:

Compared to the general older adult population, nursing home residents experience disproportionate levels of mental health problems. When one considers all NH residents, it is estimated that two-thirds have some type of documented mental disorder. One group of NH residents with mental health problems, those with SMI, differ from the ‘typical’ elderly NH resident population, and have received little research attention. SMI is defined here as longstanding psychiatric problems that significantly interfere with day-to-day functioning. These individuals usually have a significant history of chronic mental illness that pre-dates NH admission. As we shall see in this presentation, although close to 10% of the nursing home population have SMI, most nursing home staff members are not comfortable addressing the mental health needs of this population.

The presenter, Dr. Victor Molinari, is a Professor of Aging and Mental Health of the Florida Mental Health Institute, at the Univ. of South Florida. He is a current member of the National Advisory Council on Aging, past member of APA’s Committee on Aging, a Fellow in APA’s Division of Clinical Psychology and the Behavioral Sciences Section of GSA, and a well-known, respected member of the geropsychology community. Dr. Molinari has authored and co-authored numerous texts and journal articles in mental health services in nursing homes. For a list of publications and research interests, see http://amhd.bcs.usf.edu/vitas/vmolinari.php.

Audience: Psychologists, LCSW's, Nurses, Administrators, and Other Caregivers

Available Formats:
•  Online Participation: $69.95 Add to Cart